Dec 27

Selected Participants in the Pioneer ACO Model

The Pioneer Accountable Care Organization (ACO) Model is a CMS Innovation Center initiative designed to support organizations with a new payment model, allowing them to provide more coordinated care to beneficiaries at a lower cost to Medicare. The Pioneer ACO Model will test the impact of several innovative payment arrangements to support these organizations in achieving the goals of better care and outcomes at a lower cost.

The Pioneer ACO Model was designed specifically for organizations with experience offering coordinated, patient-centered care, and operating in ACO-like arrangements. The selected organizations were chosen for their significant experience offering this type of quality care to their patients, along with other criteria listed in the Request for Applications (RFA) document available at www.innovations.cms.gov. These organizations were selected through an open and competitive process from a large applicant pool that included many qualified organizations.

The descriptions of selected ACOs provided in this document are based on information provided by the ACOs for publication and do not necessarily reflect the views of CMS. Organizations participating in the Pioneer ACO Model:

Organization and Service Area

1. Allina Hospitals & Clinics Minnesota and Western Wisconsin
2. Atrius Health Services Eastern and Central Massachusetts
3. Banner Health Network Phoenix, Arizona Metropolitan Area (Maricopa and Pinal Counties)
4. Bellin-Thedacare Healthcare Partners Northeast Wisconsin
5. Beth Israel Deaconess Physician Organization Eastern Massachusetts
6. Bronx Accountable Healthcare Network (BAHN) New York City (the Bronx) and lower Westchester County, NY
7. Brown & Toland Physicians San Francisco Bay Area, CA
8. Dartmouth-Hitchcock ACO New Hampshire and Eastern Vermont
9. Eastern Maine Healthcare System Central, Eastern, and Northern Maine
10. Fairview Health Systems Minneapolis, MN Metropolitan Area
11. Franciscan Health System Indianapolis and Central Indiana
12. Genesys PHO Southeastern Michigan
13. Healthcare Partners Medical Group Los Angeles and Orange Counties, CA
14. Healthcare Partners of Nevada Clark and Nye Counties, NV
15. Heritage California ACO Southern, Central, and Costal California
16. JSA Medical Group, a division of HealthCare Partners Orlando, Tampa Bay, and surrounding South Florida
17. Michigan Pioneer ACO Southeastern Michigan
18. Monarch Healthcare Orange County, CA
19. Mount Auburn Cambridge Independent Practice Association (MACIPA) Eastern Massachusetts
20. North Texas Specialty Physicians Tarrant, Johnson and Parker counties in North Texas
21. OSF Healthcare System Central Illinois
22. Park Nicollet Health Services Minneapolis, MN Metropolitan Area
23. Partners Healthcare Eastern Massachusetts
24. Physician Health Partners Denver, CO Metropolitan Area
25. Presbyterian Healthcare Services – Central New Mexico Pioneer Accountable Care Organization Central New Mexico
26. Primecare Medical Network Southern California (San Bernadino and Riverside Counties)
27. Renaissance Medical Management Company Southeastern Pennsylvania
28. Seton Health Alliance Central Texas (11 county area including Austin)
29. Sharp Healthcare System San Diego County
30. Steward Health Care System Eastern Massachusetts
31. TriHealth, Inc. Northwest Central Iowa
32. University of Michigan Southeastern Michigan

About Reed Tinsley, CPA

As a top advisor to physicians, I help increase practice profits by delivering hands-on, expert medical accounting/tax support, practice counsel, and revenue-building strategies. Read more →