Code List for Certain Designated Health Services (DHS)
Medical Practice Management, Physician Compensation Models
Aug 22

Code List for Certain Designated Health Services (DHS)

CMS maintains and annually updates a List of Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) / Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) Codes (Code List), which identifies all the items and services included within certain DHS categories. This is very useful when making sure your group compensation plan is “Stark” compliant. CMS updates the Code List to conform the list to the most recent publications of CPT and HCPCS and to account for changes in Medicare coverage and payment policies. The updated Code List is published in the Federal Register as an addendum to the annual Physician Fee Schedule final rule. That rule is usually published in November and generally becomes effective January 1 of the following year.

You can find the code list at the link below:


About Reed Tinsley, CPA

As a top advisor to physicians, I help increase practice profits by delivering hands-on, expert medical accounting/tax support, practice counsel, and revenue-building strategies. Read more →